Want More Productive Workers? Adjust Your Thermostat via Fast Company

Cornell University researchers conducted a study that involved tinkering with the thermostat of an insurance office. When temperatures were low (68 degrees, to be precise), employees committed 44% more errors and were less than half as productive as when temperatures were warm (a cozy 77 degrees).

Cold employees weren’t just uncomfortable, they were distracted. The drop in performance was costing employers 10% more per hour, per employee. Which makes sense. When our body’s temperature drops, we expend energy keeping ourselves warm, making less energy available for concentration, inspiration, and insight.

I am all too aware that my personality changes with the weather. When its cold I am miserable. When its hot I'm all smiles. Seems I'm not alone. The wrong temperature can distract us, contributes to errors and even makes us less friendly. And what does this all have to do with soup? Read on at Fast Company for the details of the university studies.

This article came my way via Mark Neely, who is a great source of links on innovation topics if you're keen to follow on Twitter.